I’m pregnant!? Now…I have a million questions!

Standard

Image

Upon discovering she’s expecting, a woman may have a variety of emotions: excitement, panic, joy, confusion, fear, anticipation, grief, relief, or a combination of these and more.  Along with a host of emotions, pregnancy also brings with it a slew of questions.

Questions about her body and what she can do with it…

-Will I have morning sickness?  Can it be prevented?

-Do I have to stop eating all of my favorite foods now?  Do I have to start eating anything special?

-What supplements and vitamins am I supposed to be taking?

-Can I stay on my workout plan?  Is exercise safe?

-Is it normal that my breasts hurt?  Is it normal that I ALREADY have to pee all the time?

-Why am I so hungry?  …or…  Why does food sound so gross to me?

-Is there something wrong with me if I don’t feel happy all the time?

 

Questions about her baby…

-How big is he or she now?

-How do I best take care of him or her?

-How will I know if s/he’s healthy?

 

Questions about her relationships…

-Will I be a good mom?

-Will I have the support I need from my partner?

-Why do I feel the need to be “mothered” so much right now?

-Is life as I know it over?

-Who can I talk to about my concerns?

 

Questions about sex…

-Is it safe to have sex?  Will it hurt the baby?

-Why do I want to have sex all the time? …or…  Why do I have no libido whatsoever?

-Will my partner still be attracted to me as my body changes?

-How will I feel about my body as it changes?

 

Questions about her prenatal care and birth…

-Is my current OB/GYN the best choice for my prenatal care?

-How do I pick a care provider?  Where do I even start?

-What’s a midwife?  Why would I choose one?  How do I find one?

-Do I want to give birth in a hospital or at home?

-Do I need all the tests I’ve read about?

-Will I be able to handle childbirth?

-What the heck is a doula?

 

Where does a pregnant woman turn for answers and reassurance about all of these questions?  Even if she has already chosen a prenatal care provider, her first visit may not be scheduled for several weeks.  Visits with a care provider may seem too rushed or she may feel too nervous to ask all of her questions.  Some questions may feel too “weird” or “gross” to know who it’s safe to ask.  Childbirth preparation classes are usually geared towards expectant parents past about 20 weeks gestation.  There are so many books on the shelves, it’s hard to know which one is a good choice.  That copy of “What to Expect When You’re Expecting” that was passed along to her only makes her feel more nervous and unsure.  The questions just keep adding up…

I remember well how it felt when I was first pregnant with my first son.  I had very few friends in a new town, and even fewer of them had children (and even fewer of them had had the sorts of births I wanted for myself).  I didn’t know where to begin finding the right care provider.  I had read about midwives but, how the heck was I supposed to find one?  They weren’t in the phone book!  Did I just pick an OB and hospital closest to my home?  I had so many expectations and hopes and dreams and wondered if they were normal or realistic.  It was a lonely time in many ways.

As a doula, I am often not contacted by clients until they are over halfway through their pregnancies.  By that point, they may have missed out on crucial information that could have helped them feel healthier, more confident, and more prepared for a satisfying birth; I often feel like we are scrambling to fill in the gaps.  I have seen a real need for a way to get important information to pregnant women sooner so that they can really ENJOY PREGNANCY!

Out of my experience and the many questions I heard from pregnant women was born the blueprint for a class.  Healthy Pregnancy is designed to help women feel informed, empowered, and confident.  I truly believe that a healthy, confident pregnancy sets the stage for a healthy, confident birth (which can set the stage for a healthy, confident start to parenting).  I want to give that gift to as many expectant mothers as I can!  Like all of my classes, this one is interactive, fun, and tailored to the needs of the individual students.  It’s a great way to learn more, ask questions, set your mind at ease, and maybe make some friends!  Not bad for a few Saturday afternoon hours.  (Plus, goodie bags and healthy and delicious snacks will be provided… what more do you need to know?)

To learn more or to register, check out my website Enjoy the ride!

 

Leave a Reply

